The KoGuan-Leuven summer class was successfully held
Date:2019-07-25     Read:506    

During September 10 to 15, 2018, the first KoGuan-Leuven Chinese law summer class was held in KoGuan School of Law. This summer class was the first class based on the summer class agreement signed in June. 28 students attended the summer class with Professor Ingrid Boone and Lecturer Sebastien De Rey who were the team leaders. The summer class was rich in content and diverse in form. It included both classroom training and visits to judicial authorities and top international law firms.

After in-depth discussions between the two parties, 5 Chinese law courses were selected for this year’s winter class students, involving finance, investment, law and society, aiming at helping students understand the profile of the Chinese law. All courses were taught in English at KoGuan School of Law in Xuhui Campus.

In addition to the classroom teaching, KoGuan also organized students to visit many places. On the afternoon of September 10, the students visited the Minhang District People's Court in Shanghai. Under the guidance of the accompanying lead teachers and the staffs present, the students got a preliminary understanding of the institutional setup and functions of the court. During the discussion after the visit, the students communicated with the teachers and judges actively.

On the afternoon of September 13, the students came to the International Finance Centre at Lujiazui and visited the Zhong Lun Law Firm. The students came up with different questions according to their interests and career directions, and expressed great interest in the profession of lawyers.

On the afternoon of September 14, the Summer Class Certificate Presentation Ceremony and the farewell dinner were held in room 206 at Leo Koguan law building and Teacher Activity Centre at Xuhui Campus respectively. The students said that this was their first time to visit China and experience the legal culture of this traditional Eastern country. KoGuan hoped that after this summer class, more foreign students would come to Shanghai to study Chinese law, enjoy the beauty of China’s landscape and know more about China.

On the morning of September 13, Prof. Kong Xiangjun, Dean of KoGuan School of Law, Prof. Hou Liyang, Assitant to the Dean, and Qiao Na from International Program Office, received Professor Ingrid Boone and Lecturer Sebastien De Rey in the VIP room at Leo Koguan law building.

Kong Xiangjun welcomed the teachers and students from Leuven. Professor Ingrid Boone expressed gratitude to Kong’s reception and highly praised this year’s Chinese law summer class. Both sides looked forward to next year’s summer class.

After the meeting, the two sides presented souvenirs to each other and took a group photo as a commemoration.

Attachment: brief introduction of University of Leuven
University of Leuven is Belgium's most prestigious institution, one of the world's top 50 universities, one of Europe's oldest and most respected universities, and a world-class research university.
Founded by Pope Martin V in 1425, the University of Leuven has a school history of nearly six centuries and is the oldest surviving Catholic university and the oldest medieval university in Western Europe's Low Countries. For the past 100 years, it has ranked the top 20 in the world. In 1968, the French University of Leuven (UCL, University of New Leuven) was separated from the former University of Leuven and became a new school. The University of Leuven has been in the Dutch-speaking region of Belgium and has inherited the original campus of the school which has existed for several hundred years. The French-speaking University of Leuven moved to the French-speaking part of Belgium.
the University of Leuven is a world leader in many fields. In 2017, KU Leuven of Belgium ranked first in Europe for the second consecutive year and ranked fifth in the world, according to the world's leading innovative universities ranking by Reuters.
As one of the founding universities, KU Leuven has established LERU (The League of European Research Universities) with famous universities such as Oxford, Cambridge, Leiden, Edinburgh, Geneva and Heidelberg.